General Information

The Springfield Local School (SLS) District was established in 1881 (to read more about the district's rich history, click on the "History" link on this site. It is now the 117th largest (of 613 city, local, and exempted village) public school district in the state of Ohio.

SLS is located in Lucas County in northwestern Ohio, approximately 72-miles east of the Ohio-Indiana border and within five miles of the Ohio-Michigan border. The total service area is approximately 25-square miles (to view a map of district boundaries, please select "Directions" from the menu on the left of this page).

SLS currently features seven academic facilities (the Early Education Center; Crissey, Dorr, Holland, and Holloway elementary schools; Springfield Middle School, Springfield High School) and the Springfield Digital Academy, our virtual school. In these facilities and through our online platform, the district provides education to the approximately 4,000 students beginning in pre-kindergarten classrooms and continuing through Grade 12 living in the Village of Holland, Springfield Township, and in the numerous neighborhoods within Maumee, Monclova Township, and south Toledo (encompassing the zip codes of 43528 and parts of 43537, 43542, 43614, 43615, and 43617) which encompass our boundaries.